Belated Release Date: “Best Women’s Erotica of the Year, Volume 2”

Things have been mildly crazy lately, what with the holidays upon us and my new day job (much as I would love it, writing smut hasn’t enabled me to quit the daily grind…yet). However, as I sip my glass of wine, I am once again brought to my keyboard to let readers know that another one of my stories has been made public.

The esteemed Rachel Kramer Bussel has done it again, folks! She has put together a sexy, thought-provoking collection of quick tales concerning women in search of that most powerful driving force: one’s own pleasure. Without giving too much away, I’d like to talk about my story in the collection.

The quick tale is titled, “Performance,” and it concerns a young women stepping into a world with which she is utterly unfamiliar. No, it’s not a descent into a dungeon filled with leather and wax. She is introduced to the elegant world of opera. I was drawn to opera back in 2014, when my lover took me to see the Washington National Opera perform La bohème. The sets were vast and wonderful, the musicianship unparalleled, and the emotion of the show was nearly too much to bear. The occasion has been seared into my memory, and I knew I’d be returning in due time.

When this call was announced, I not only thought of my time at the opera, but I also considered the unnameable sensation of watching your lover indulge his/her passions. The degree of focus is palpable and contagious; a different sort of chemistry permeates the air, much to one’s satisfaction. I wanted to tap into those sensations, and I hope that I have been able to do just that for my readers.

Without further ado, please enjoy an excerpt of my short story, “Performance.”

He picked up the tambourine. He slid his thumb over the little metal jingles, the lightest touch forcing a gentle sound that could be heard throughout the concert hall. My nipples began to harden, as if he were sliding his thumb over each puckered bud. As the aria progressed, I watched him intently. His forehead was knotted with concentration, ensuring that his fingers touched the instrument at the precise moment. He didn’t dare make a mistake. Knowing he put as much focus in his work as he did when making me scream his name was almost unbearable.

In related excited news, I will be doing my first public reading! If you find yourself near Charm City, please come to the event on February 9, 2017. Details here.

I’m not one to rest, and I’m pleased to say that I have more exciting things coming up in the near future. For now, I’ll simply say that I hope everyone has a wonderful holiday season!

Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

